Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default Just had veneer done

Hi all i'm new to this and hope i am in the right place

My front teeth are a little eroded with one of my front teeth more so, it looked a little unsightly and had a very small chip.

I mentioned to my dentist that I was considering veneers after doing some reasearch, she had a look and said the erosion wasn't as bad on the other teeth and that she could do a veneer on nhs on the slightly chipped front tooth. She explained it would look natural etc

I decided on a shade lighter than my own teeth as i plan on getting my stained teeth whitened to match it.

Just had it fitted today and explained to the dentist that i didn't realise it would look so odd and be so bulky. I know its new and feel odd and have been told that that feeling will subside but it still looks odd.

It is about 2mm longer than my other teeth (she explained this was due it having to overlap the edge of my tooth) and kinda sticks out to the side, and has an sharpish edge at the top and side where it sits on my natural tooth, way more bulky than I thought veneers were and to be honest if i knew it would look so odd I wouldn't have had it done.

Sorry to go on and I know its hard to explain when you can't see it but imagine the difference a cheap 99p pack of false stick on nails would look compared to a nice natural overlay.

What i'm asking i suppose is Is this normal? I think my dentist charges about £500 for a veneer and to be honest if i had paid for this i would not be at all impressed (i know some may say that having it done on nhs i am lucky). Am wondering also is because when i have done research i have maily seen full sets of veneers done..but they never seem to have the gap at the top where you can see part of the natural tooth....

Can anyone advise? I feel now like I might just want a full set doing top and bottom but will take me a good while to save for it

Hi

I am sorry to hear about your circumstances.