Default Canine teeth protruding higher than the rest

I have a question on behalf of a girl of eleven regarding a protruding cuspid, that is higher than the rest. She is scared of medical stuff, as her mother is on medication, so I told her I would find out as much as possible, and look to reasure her on what to do.
    Her friends at school say she will have braces. I am a total novice to dentistry, and indeed at 41 half my back teeth have cracked off and I havent seen a dentist or doctor scince 7 years old, so can sympathise with her fears, (although, Apart from some pain I seem to be in good health).
    It would be good if someone could offer some advice as to what is happening in her mouth, and any thoughts or advice on what to do. Please do not think I will jump to do whatever is offered, as I realise you can never be sure without a detailed survey of the situation and indeed the patient, I am just looking for opinions, and to reasure her that she is not allone and that people put a lot of thuoght and attention to this sort of thing. And hopefully that she has nothing to worry about, or some possibilities of what to do about it.
    Thanks.

It is unlikely that at such a tender age its anything to be overly concerned about.

You are right on the money that a full consultation is needed but it does sound like she may need braces. The sooner a consultation is arranged the better in my humble opinion.

May I also suggest a consultation for yourself. I appreciate your concerns but very few dental problems give pain. One of the most important things we do as dentists is an oral cancer screening, which should be done every 6 months without fail. I do not mean to scare you my friend but I am concerned about your oral health if it has truly been that long since you have seen a dentist.

Rest assured that quality dentistry is nothing like any care you have received in the past, and there are superb sedation options available for anxious clients