Plymouth and Exeter Universities End Ten Year Partnership

Sample News Big

Plymouth and Exeter universities have announced their ten year partnership will come to an end. The split will mean that Devon will have two medical schools, with the Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry set to be divided between the two universities.

Once the partnership has come to an end, Plymouth University will retain all the 64 dentistry students, while Exeter will take the larger share of medical students and 125 students will study at Exeter compared to 75 at Plymouth.

Plymouth will keep the Peninsula brand name and will be known as the Plymouth University Peninsula Schools of Medicine and Dentistry and Exeter will create a brand new medical school, which will be known as the University of Exeter Medical School.

Vice Chancellor of Plymouth University, Wendy Purcell said that the partnership had worked well in the past but changes need to be made to allow the universities to keep up with developments in education and healthcare. University representatives have confirmed that no jobs will be lost as a result of the changes.

Existing students and those who are starting in 2012 will be taught according to the current arrangements and graduate with a qualification from both universities. New students starting from 2013 will study for degree qualifications from either Exeter University or Plymouth University. Both camps have confirmed that the split was amicable and the decision had been taken to improve standards of education and training in the future.




Powered by Facebook Comments

Join this Discussion

Comments are closed.